Search:  Catalog  Site

Gone Girl Readalikes

One of the best-selling books of 2012, Gillian Flynn’s Gone Girl is a psychological suspense story about the marriage of Nick and Amy.  On the morning of their 5th wedding anniversary, Amy disappears and Nick is the prime suspect. Although Nick proclaims his innocence, he is not completely honest with the police and evidence begins to mount against him. Told from alternating points of view, nothing is as it seems as the layers of Nick and Amy’s marriage are revealed in this intricately plotted thriller.


If you are on the waiting list for have already read Gone Girl, you could read one of the other suspenseful titles written by Flynn:  Dark Places or Sharp Objects.

 

Below are several readalikes for Gone Girl. These novels may include twists and turns, missing spouses, dark and suspenseful plots or events described from multiple points of view.

 


Before I Go To Sleep by S.J. Watson
Memories-real, false, and a bit of both-are at the heart of British author Watson's haunting debut. Christine Lucas awakens each morning in London with no idea who she is or why she's in bed with a strange man, until he tells her that his name is Ben and they've been married for 22 years. Christine learns that she has amnesia and is unable to remember her past or retain new memories: every night when she falls asleep, the slate is wiped clean. (summary provided by Publishers Weekly)


The Birthday Present by Barbara Vine
Ivor Tesham, a dashing member of Parliament, decides to give his married mistress, Hebe, an unusual birthday gift. He hires two men to kidnap her and transport her, bound and gagged, to their weekend love nest. Everything has been carefully planned-when the kidnappers' car is hit by a truck shortly after the abduction; Hebe and one of the kidnappers are killed, the other one is seriously injured. Ivor fears obsessively that the man will recover and tell the media the truth about his involvement. (summary provided by Library Journal)

 

Still Missing by Chevy Stevens
On a sunny afternoon, realtor Annie O'Sullivan is just about to end an open house showing when a friendly, nicely dressed man appears. What seems to be a lucky break is really just the beginning of Annie's yearlong ordeal. During sessions with her psychologist, Annie takes the reader back to her abduction and narrates how she struggled to survive. The reader is able to relive the events through Annie's own retelling. (summary provided by Library Journal)

 

The Poison Tree by Erin Kelly
Karen Clarke has always done what's expected and been a good girl: exceptional, conscientious student and an obedient daughter. Then she meets fascinating Biba and falls in love. That Biba wants to be her friend amazes Karen, who gratefully moves in with the actress and her protective older brother, soon to become Karen's lover. At first, Karen finds her housemates' casual lifestyle immensely appealing, but it isn't long before she unearths the tangled emotions and tragic history that lies beneath the carefree scene. (summary provided by Booklist)


Die for You by Lisa Unger
Isabel Connelly, a bestselling novelist, and her loving husband, Marcus Raine, a computer game designer, have it all, including an elegant prewar apartment on Manhattan's Upper West Side. When Marcus doesn't come home one night, Isabel goes to his office, where she's confronted by a dozen people with weapons drawn. The police later inform Isabel that not only is her husband missing but he's been lying about his past, having stolen the real Marcus Raine's identity years earlier. Despite a text from Marcus urging her to forget about him, Isabel vows to track him down.  (summary provided by Publishers Weekly)

  

Line of Vision by David Ellis
Marty Kalish goes to the house of his married lover only to see her being brutally beaten by her husband. Marty breaks into the house, and the next thing he knows, he is hiding the body of the murdered husband. Marty does everything to cover his tracks, but the police soon catch up with him. When they indicate that they are going to arrest his lover, Marty confesses to the killing. Now on trial for his life, Marty assembles a small legal team and tries to find a way to save himself. As the trial unfolds, the reader, along with Marty himself, discovers that all was not as it seemed, and it leads to a shocking conclusion. (summary provided by Booklist)


If you have any further questions please stop by the Readers Advisory desk on the 2nd floor of the library or call 814-3987.