Search:  Catalog  Site

Staff Picks

Looking for a good book to read? See below for what members of the Adult Reference and Readers Advisory Department have been reading. Click on the link or book cover to be taken to the catalog record for each title. If you have already read and enjoyed one of the books listed below, we have provided a readalike.

 

 

 

Lost in Shangri-la by Mitchell Zuckoff
This is a WWII era story of three plane crash survivors, their daring rescuers and the native people of New Guinea. Army scouts locate the survivors and begin dropping supplies while planning the rescue. The natives have never seen a white man before let alone an aircraft or supplies floating in the sky. Although the heroic rescue was dangerous and courageous you are left to wonder if the resulting anthropological impact to the natives was a fair trade. Intriguing, makes you wonder if the real story was left untold. (SW)
Readalike: Ghost Soldiers by Hampton Sides

 

Miss Peregrine's Home for Peculiar Children by Ransom Riggs
As part of his therapy, troubled teen Jacob Portman travels to an island off the coast of Wales where his grandfather lived during World War II. There he discovers the ruins of Miss Peregrine's Home for Peculiar Children where he becomes acquainted with a group of children whose likenesses he had seen previously in a box of strange photos. A Young Adult novel that appeals to adults as well, this story is part historical fiction, part paranormal fantasy. The book is peppered with odd, vintage photographs which add to the quirky storyline. (NW)
Readalike: The Book of Lost Things by John Connolly

 

The Rose Garden by Susanna Kearsley
Eva returns to her beloved Cornwall after the death of her sister. Grieving and uncertain of the future, she is transported to the 18th century where adventure and a man named Daniel await her. The Rose Garden is recommended for its atmospheric setting and romantic storyline. (DS)  
Readalikes: Outlander by Diana Gabaldon

 

 

Angelmaker by Nick Harkaway
The son of a London gangster, who has taken over his grandfather’s clockwork repair business, starts a clockwork machine that could end the world. This rollicking, science fiction, spy story takes the reader on an off-beat adventure. (DS)
Readalikes: The Eyre Affair by Jasper Fforde; Neverwhere by Neil Gaiman

 

 

2030 by Albert Brooks
In the year 2030 cancer has been cured. By taking a pill you can lose weight or grow hair. The population is rapidly growing and the nation is in great debt due to the massive amount of senior citizens. When an earthquake levels Los Angeles, the United States is inclined to seek assistance from China to rebuild, with remarkable consequences. Full of intriguing characters, this timely narrative is a fascinating look at a potential America in the future. (BB)
Readalike: The Handmaid’s Tale by Margaret Atwood

 

Unholy Fire by Robert Mrazek
Kit McKitteredge is young Union officer from Maine. After being brutally wounded at the Battle of Ball’s Bluff, he spends the better part of a year recuperating at a hospital and becoming addicted to opium. He is recruited to work in Washington D.C. and examine government fraud as it relates to the war. A case takes him to the birthday party of General Joseph Hooker where a  young women is murdered. Believing the murder may be related to a case of military fraud, Kit begins an investigation and encounters the seamy side of Washington D.C., which is full of thieves, brothels, saloons and political corruption. (BB)
                     Readalike: The Black Flower by Howard Bahr