Search:  Catalog  Site
Getting Started

Popular Picks

What Others Have Read

Grier's Titles



The Revolving Door of Life
The Revolving Door of Life by Alexander McCall Smith (Other Fiction)
The latest novel in the charming 44 Scotland Street series. -- Added by Grier on 03/04/2016

Add Comment
Mapp and Lucia
Mapp and Lucia by E. F. Benson (Other Fiction)
I love love love this book. I love the whole series but this is the best of the five books. Lucia and Georgie are my favorite characters and the others are the perfect foils for them. Just delightful. -- Added by Grier on 03/04/2016

Add Comment
Mrs. Malory Investigates
Mrs. Malory Investigates by Hazel Holt (Mystery/Suspense)
I don't read many mysteries but found this cozy English mystery very appealing. I will definitely read the rest of the series. -- Added by Grier on 03/04/2016

Add Comment
The Small House at Allington
The Small House at Allington by Anthony Trollope (Other Fiction)
Fifth book in the Barsetshire series follows a new set of characters with cameos by characters from the other books in the series. Highly recommended. -- Added by Grier on 03/04/2016

Add Comment
Sidney Chambers and the Shadow of Death
Sidney Chambers and the Shadow of Death by James Runcie (Mystery/Suspense)
This is the first of the Granchester Mysteries featuring Sidney Chambers. I am not a big fan of mysteries for the most part and found this to be just OK. I liked the main character but found much of the dialogue to be stilted. -- Added by Grier on 02/18/2016

Add Comment
Framley Parsonage
Framley Parsonage by Anthony Trollope (Other Fiction)
I loved this book, part of the Barsetshire series of novels. Such vibrant characters and surprisingly modern. -- Added by Grier on 02/18/2016

Add Comment
The Road to Little Dribbling
The Road to Little Dribbling by Bill Bryson (Other Nonfiction)
I loved this book. Bryson at his best and a tour of Great Britain. Wonderful! -- Added by Grier on 02/05/2016

Add Comment
Lucia in Wartime
Lucia in Wartime by Tom Holt (Other Fiction)
For fans of E F Benson's Mapp and Lucia novels, this volume doesn't disappoint. It's not quite EFB but comes close enough. Thoroughly enjoyable! -- Added by Grier on 01/27/2016

Add Comment
A Handful of Dust
A Handful of Dust by Evelyn Waugh (Other Fiction)
Biting satire of life in England between the wars. Well written. -- Added by Grier on 01/23/2016

Add Comment
At Mrs Lippincote's
At Mrs Lippincote's by Elizabeth Taylor (Other Fiction)
Wartime England. Hard to describe this book but I enjoyed its insights. -- Added by Grier on 01/20/2016

Add Comment
The Way Things Are
The Way Things Are by E. M. Delafield (Other Fiction)
First published in 1927, not quite on a par with the author's Provincial Lady series, but I enjoyed it. -- Added by Grier on 01/17/2016

Add Comment
Miss Mole
Miss Mole by Emily Hilda Young (Other Fiction)
Written in 1930, this award winning novel has as its heroine a housekeeper for a minister's family, a complex, many layered character. -- Added by Grier on 01/13/2016

Add Comment