Search:  Catalog  Site

Vince Flynn (1966-2013)

Pursuit of HonorVince Flynn, best-selling author of political thriller novels, recently died at age 47 after a two-year battle with cancer. Flynn wrote novels full of suspense and fast-paced action. Many of his novels featured counter-terrorism expert Mitch Rapp attempting to prevent Middle Eastern terrorist attacks on the United States. Throughout the series Rapp often worked with special operation units such as Navy Seals, Delta Force and the FBI Hostage Rescue Team.



Flynn’s first novel, Term Limits, was published in 1998 and is a standalone thriller in which the murder of three politicians sets off a media frenzy.

The first Mitch Rapp novel to be published was Transfer of Power in 1999. When a group of terrorists seize control White House, leaving many dead and driving the President to a secret bunker, it is up to Rapp to stop the uprising.

This was followed in 2000 by The Third Option which finds Rapp pitted against a domestic enemy when the newly appointed director of the CIA becomes an assassination target.

According to Flynn, the series can be read in any order but “there is a storyline that develops along the way up through Pursuit of Honor. American Assassin then jumps to an earlier time than the rest of the books and the storyline is followed up in Kill Shot."

Below is a list of the books in the series in chronological order according to the author’s website.

American Assassin (2010)
Kill Shot (2011)
Transfer of Power (1999)
The Third Option (2000)
Separation of Power (2001)
Executive Power (2003)
Memorial Day (2004)
Consent to Kill (2005)
Act of Treason (2006)
Protect and Defend (2007)
Extreme Measures (2008)
Pursuit of Honor (2009)
The Last Man (2012)