Search:  Catalog  Site
Book Details

Search by Subject

Troubled Waters

     by Shinn, Sharon

Troubled Waters

Plot/Summary:
Zoe Ardelay, chosen to become the king's fifth wife, is a coru prime ruled by the elemental sign of water. She must return to the palace, not as an unwilling bride for the king, but a woman with power in her own right. But as Zoe unlocks more of the mysteries of her blood--and the secrets of the royal family--she must decide how to use her great power to rise above the deceptions and intrigue of the royal court. 

Comments:
Shinn has crafted a brilliant fantasy world, one that feels wholly unique, full, and developed. She takes a classic fantasy theme -- elemental magic -- and twists it on its head: Primes control elemental magic, and they are the heads of the household; other people maintain the spirit of certain elements, similar to personality or zodiac descriptors. Zoe is thrust into this world, and she must piece together her past before taking full control of her future as prime. Fans of courtly romances, politics, and intrigue will enjoy this multi-layered fantasy, perfect for readers of Juliet Marillier and individuals who want a softer Game of Thrones. This is the first of the Elemental Blessings series.


Reviewed by lc, 07/17. Other reviews by lc.